Heritage Items & Conservation Areas

PAGE SOURCE:  Hurstville City Council’s website (external link)


Hurstville City Council has a number of plans and policies in place that ensure the appropriate management of heritage in Hurstville City.

Understanding heritage
The definition of heritage is very broad, and includes buildings, areas, streets, towns, relics, landscapes and works which:

  • provide evidence of important history
  • are aesthetically pleasing
  • are important to the social life of the community
  • are particularly rare and interesting.

Community concern for heritage springs from a desire to conserve sites and structures that are regarded as important, for future generations. Heritage helps the community understand how society has developed, and captures the distinctive identity of a local area.

Heritage Registers
Heritage registers are lists of identified heritage items. The statutory registers in NSW are:

  • Schedules to local Councils’ Local Environmental Plans (LEP)
  • State Heritage Register

Hurstville Local Government Area (LGA) currently has two LEP’s, Hurstville LEP 2012 and the Hurstville LEP 1994. The Hurstville LEP 2012 took effect on 7 December 2012 and applies to all land in the Hurstville LGA, except land identified as the Hurstville City Centre, to which the Hurstville LEP 1994 applies.

Schedule 5 of the Hurstville LEP 2012 contains the heritage items for land within the Hurstville LGA (with the exception of the Hurstville City Centre). Clause 5.10 of the Hurstville LEP 2012 provides guidance for the conservation of heritage items.

Schedule 2 of the Hurstville LEP 1994 contains the heritage items in the Hurstville City Centre only. Part 4 of the Hurstville LEP 1994 details the provisions relating to the protection of heritage items which must be considered as part of the Development Assessment for Heritage Items.

Impact of a heritage listing
If you would like to carry out certain types of work on a heritage listed property, approval from Council will be required, to ensure it won’t compromise the property’s heritage significance. Approval is needed for:

  • full or partial demolition
  • alterations
  • extensions
  • new structures
  • change of use
  • subdivision
  • removal of certain kinds of vegetation
  • major changes to significant interiors
  • disturbance of relics or landscapes.

Generally, demolition of a heritage listed property will not occur, as the property is usually viewed as adding heritage value to an entire streetscape or region, rather than just being a standalone building. Under certain circumstances, demolition may occur if the property poses a safety danger, or the significance of the building is no longer justified.

If your property is a listed heritage item under Council’s LEP, you will need to complete a development application and have it approved by Council before any work can commence. If you are unsure whether you will need approval to carry out work, contact Council for advice, or contact a heritage advisor.

Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 – gives local government the power to protect heritage items and conservation areas.
National Parks and Wildlife Act 1974 – provides for the protection of Aboriginal heritage sites and natural heritage items.
Heritage Act 1977 – established the NSW Heritage Council, which assists local government to identify, protect and promote heritage items and conservation areas.
Australian Heritage Commission Act 1975 – established the Australian Heritage Commission which maintains a Register of the National Estate of natural, Aboriginal and historic places of heritage significance.

More information

  • Learn about heritage items listed under Schedule 5 of the Hurstville LEP 2012 (non-Hurstville City Centre)
  • Learn about heritage items listed under Schedule 2 of the Hurstville LEP 1994 (Hurstville City Centre)
  • Search for heritage listed items through the NSW Heritage Branch
  • Search for natural, Aboriginal and historic places of heritage through the Australian Heritage Commission
  • Find out about the heritage conservation areas which have been identified by the National Trust of Australia (NSW)